New user: basic questions on GUI and using Scrivener

I am a scientist looking to organize my ideas in papers and projects, and I think Scrivener is just the thing to help me out - it looks like a perfect improvement over my current Microsoft Word workflow because I need to work with a nested outline of ideas and keep associated materials with each item in the outline. I’m sort of drowning in all the demos and details on-line and am hoping someone can help me arrange it the way I need:

I want 2 windows/panels: on the left, I need a vertical (narrow) view of the nested outline of my thoughts - topics and subtopics and documents of actual content. On the right, one big window/panel showing the contents of whatever document is selected in the outline so I can work on it. It’s almost how I want now, but:

1. What’s the difference between the items under the Binder panel called Notes, Ideas, Research - how are those different from the actual Manuscript item?

2. I need to be able to keep a bunch of information - links, embedded PDFs, images, etc. for each item of the outline to help me create the content. How do I do that - is there a separate way to keep data/content corresponding to specific items of my Manuscript or do I put everything into the Manuscript pages themselves?

3. When I insert a PDF into a page in the Manuscript itself, I see the whole PDF itself - it takes up most of the page; is there any way to show it as an icon only?

Have you worked through the Interactive Tutorial, under the Help menu? It should answer some, if not all, of your questions, as well as enabling you to get a better picture of Scrivener for long-term use.