New User - Exactly How To Transfer Projects Between Machines Using USB, Please?

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to Scrivener, having just finished the tutorial, and am super excited to get started! There’s one thing I can’t seem to find much advice on, so I would be grateful for your support, because I am completely un-tech-savvy and terrified of accidentally corrupting or otherwise ‘breaking’ my future project(s).

Long story short, I need to transfer my project between machines on a regular basis (once or twice a week). The catch is that I cannot use any cloud-type or internet based service, I need to use a USB stick or similar. (I have no control over this situation, so please don’t suggest that I move to a cloud service.)

I’m not worried about forgetting or anything like that, as I have been working like this for years with Word documents, however with Scrivener I’m just not sure how to do it. If someone would have the time to break down for me exactly which file or folder I need to copy from Machine A and which file or folder I need to over-write on Machine B in order to make the transfer, I’d be eternally grateful (if it makes any difference to size, my projects are almost entirely text based and the whole thing, research included, will have an absolute maximum of 150k words. Most projects will be significantly smaller).

The project is the whole folder called projectname.scriv with all its subfolders and files, so you need to transfer the whole folder. That can be done in several ways.

You could copy the folder from the HD to the USB stick, using the file system and Explorer after having closed Scrivener. Or you can choose File -> Backup to from within Scrivener to create a zip-file (provided you have ticked to create zip:ed backups under Tools -> Options) which you then copy to the USB stick.