New User Fast Tracks Up The Learning Curve

First let me say that the learning curve is not too huge. But I have a job and my time is limited, especially for learning new software programs. I also need a good reason to commit to a software program which I found when some creative ideas for a ‘personal’ writing project popped into my grey matter. One idea in particular decided to stick around. So I began jotting down these ideas in my Moleskine notebook .

My day job is writing advertising and marketing communications so most of my time is spent in Quark or InDesign. And I too loathe MS Word. On-line, I researched various writing programs and quickly narrowed my choice to Scrivener for three reasons: First, the fabulous logo. (I’m a sucker for great design). Second, the developer’s philosophy on program development. (It was like finding a soul mate.) Third, the active base of committed users and knowledgeable, friendly support on the Scrivener Forum. So I downloaded the demo.

30 Days: how to make the best use of my time. I did all the regular stuff. I looked at the on-line video demo (3 times). I’ve done the tutorial (twice). I downloaded the ScrivenerHelp.pdf file and gave it a quick read. And most important, I spent some time reading the comments in the Technical Support section of the Forum, so now I know that I won’t be using the Tutorial Project for my personal writing project. And if I press the Delete button and something disappears, I’ll look in the Trash and it will miraculously re-appear. Neat!

Time to get to the Fast Tracking bit, eh?

Ok, here goes. I created a New Project for my very own creative project in Scrivener, took all my ideas from the notebook and created separate text files in the Research folder. Import some pdf files and some images into the Research folder, created five Chapter folders in the Draft/Manuscript folder. Then came to a quick stop!