New User: Scrivener seems molasses slow... is it my bad?

Good evening,

I’m a PhD grad student in the middle of field research in South America and I’m checking scrivener out to ultimately use it in writing up my dissertation.

I’m running it on a macbook (early 2008) OS 10.5.5, a 2 GHx Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 G 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM.

I seem to get the “waiting processing” ball every single time for an average wait of 30sec, sometimes a minute (and taking over the entire computer, rendering the trackpad nearly unresponsive) when I flip through the data I’ve imported (namely under “Research”) and I’m wondering if I’m taxing the scrivener system. I’ve currently imported 70 photographs (jpg), 3 hrs of voice recordings (wma) as my non-text data. Is that an unwieldy amount of data for the program to process?

I’ve checked out my Activity Monitor (under utilities) and I’ve got more than 30% of my system memory free even as I write (I’ve got firefox and scriv open).

Thanks!

Welcome to scriv…

Are you using an external storage for your project? Ex a thumb drive, USB attached hd, or a network share.

If so, this MAY be your issue and you can check by moving your project to the internal drive and seeing if it is still slow.

If you are not using an external drive, you might want to run scriv with the console app open and see if there are any errors being logged. KB (Keith the scriv developer) will need those to help determine if there is a real problem.

Your system is certainly fast enough and I can’t think of a good reason why Scrivener would be slow in this circumstance. That said, it would depend on the size of your files. Give that you say that you are “flipping through” files, I am guessing that Scrivener is trying to open some rather large files here… How big is your project (in MB)? How large are the photographs you have loaded in, or the WMA files? If you open one of the WMA files that takes a long time to open in Scrivener, does it load faster in QuickTime?

Thanks,