Newbie Questions—Layout

I’m new to Scrivener. The more I’m using it the more I’m really into the method of thinking and working. It’s changing the way I write. I do get that Scrivener isn’t intended to be page layout and it isn’t really wysiwyg.

However… limitations on formatting are really getting to me. Here’s the reality of my workflow. I’m creating a book serially, chapter by chapter. But I also need to print and finish each chapter as they come. So I mostly write it in Scrivener and then export to Word to get everything just right. It has tables, blanks for them filling in, footnotes. Lots of stuff that can throw things off.

So in Word I get those things fixed up but in the process I notice a typo; change the wording here and there, rework some awkward sentences. Now because I’m writing a book I need to go back and paste those things into Scrivener. So I’m manually syncing two documents sentence by sentence. Not good. At which point I’m starting to wonder if I should have saved myself headache and just written in Word.

I’d like to just work in Scrivener. I’d really like to work in Scrivener. I could nearly do that if footnotes would appear on the page as actual normal footnotes in “page view.” Is there a way to do that?

As it is, if I print directly from Scrivener the footnotes throw everything off and I get unexpected layout in subsequent pages with bad results. Help?

Do you really need to re-import the fixes to Scrivener? Lots of people treat Scrivener as a way of organizing their thoughts and writing the first draft, then moving to Word for layout and exchanging revisions with editors.

Editing to add: While I understand your desire to make it a round-trip, and to make the Scrivener project a definitive source for the text, it’s going to frustrate you mightily if you really need to go back to it, as there’s no way for you to preserver your layout if you re-import to Scrivener and then back out to Word.

Are you exporting to Word just to print it out?