Non-OCR'd PDF files

Hello, I am totally new to Scrivener. I played around with it for a few days, and I was hooked. I am using it on my HP Pavilion, which has Tiger OSX!

I am doing a dissertation, and I have also been doing some fiction writing. For my research, I have depended on Scientific Software’s Atlas.ti program - it’s a program that lets you ‘code’ data - (“annotate”) - for your research. Usually, you code transcribed interviews, but you can also code voice files, mp3s, images, videos, as well as any text file. It is an amazing tool for qualitative researchers like me. However, it is limited in two important ways: it doesn’t work natively on OSX and it will not recognize PDF files. The latter is a major drawback if you’ve got a million journal articles in PDF, and you want to code them with your other data - memos, scribblings, interviews, pictures, etc. So, then I stumble across Scrivener…

And my question is simple: Can you ‘annotate’ PDF files that are “image” PDFs? Usually, older journal articles will have been scanned, without OCR (optical character recognition), neither have they been typed and converted to PDF format. For that matter, can images in general be annotated?

I am forced to keep my Win XP PC dual boot to XP and OSX, because I need Atlas with all my data, but I’d love to be able to annotate those PDFs…

Any ideas would be welcome, thanks, this is a fabulous product

Richard

You can drag PDFs and images into the Research folder of the binder. When you view them, you can use the Notes area of the Inspector to annotate/classify them. If you then do project searches those documents in the binder matching your search will be selected.