One Scrivener File or Multiple?

I am new to this but loving this program. I am working on multiple writing projects that include a couple books, articles and speeches I am always working on. I like to be able to move thoughts from one project to another, so I have been keeping the book project, articles and teachings all in one scrivener file. This works amazing, but is this the correct way to run this, or will I run into problems in the future? Thanks for any input.

That’s a perfectly legitimate way to work. One thing you can do to make life easier on yourself is to create one folder for each writing project under the Draft folder (aka Manuscript folder… it can be renamed, and is in the various templates). When you go to compile, there’s a way to make it look at one of those sub-folders as if they were the top-level Draft folder. This is how some people work on book series.

Thanks very much! I love this program! Wish I knew of this a while back. Now I don’t have to have 10 files open all the time.

My bolding. Book Series: would love to see some examples of projects and project templates that accommodate Book Series or Chapter Installments (monthly series)?

Would someone point me the proper direction? thank you.

I haven’t seen any templates, mostly I’ve just seen questions about how to keep track of series, and people saying that you can do one of two thngs:

1. create a new project for each book, dragging support materials and the book’s contents from the previous project’s binder to the new book’s binder.
  2. Create sub-folders in you Manuscript folder for each book/short story, and set your compile “Contents” pane to the folder for your current work in progress.