Outline, sections and export

I am new to Scrivener so this question is likely elementary. I am composing a draft, to be exported, eventually. I want the draft to export with some paragraph headings/titles.

Is it best to create an outline section for each paragraph section (by indenting sections within sections in a chapter) in which I want a heading/title, in a book chapter ? Or if I simply type a title and continue typing in the chapter, will it export correctly?

There are two schools of thought on this one. Some prefer to just put their titles right into the text files and call it done. Other’s like to use the compile feature which will print the Binder title using a font you can set up in compile options. I doubt anyone could put forth a case for which is better, it’s mostly a matter of taste. The compile method lets you forget about setting up titles and styling them all of the time—but it forces you to use public-safe binder titles. Typing them directly in means maintaining bits of title text throughout the draft in accordance with any changes you make to the draft. If something that was a chapter becomes a section, you have to remember to change the font and titling format.

I’m not entirely sure what you are getting at here. It would be easier, I think, if you expressed what you are trying to do in generic terms, since Scrivener doesn’t have chapters, I’m not sure what construct you are using which you are calling a “chapter”. Is it a folder with text files in? A text file with text files in it? A folder with folder text? Are you advocating putting all of your chapter into a single file and indenting everything manually within it, instead of using the outliner?

Right, that’s helpful. I’m not using the correct language.