Outlining Strategies?

Posting here rather than the tech support forum because I wanted to get some input from other users, and because it’s an agnostic question (not specifically Windows or Mac version).

I’m new to Scrivener and before I get started importing the stuff I have from various Word docs that contain my outline, character summaries, novel, etc I wanted to learn more about what the best way to outline is, hoping to do it right the first time as much as possible.

I saw one tutorial on youtube where the top level of binder was the manuscript/novel name, then after that the next level down was the chapters, and within those were scenes. I liked the way that looked because the scenes inside the chapter were separated with the faded horizontal line and that seemed to be how it was designed to work. But another tutorial on outlining showed the ms name at the top level then the next level was the three Acts of the novel, then under that chapters, and under them scenes. That seemed better since I do want to incorporate acts, but seemed to compromise somewhat because now the chapters were separated by the fading horizontal line the way scenes were before.

How do some of you do the outlining and can you point me to a youtube that shows your method? Maybe I’ll go with the first approach and use color-coded metadata for the acts, or just forget that and use a general note or something to keep in mind what chapters are in which acts?

Thanks in advance for any help.

What approach works for you?

Part of the point of Scrivener is that the organization that works best for you while you’re creating the work doesn’t have to match the structure that you will ultimately use for the published work. Chapters and scenes, three acts, hero’s journey, no outline at all… Entirely your call.