Paragraph Spacing Before vs. After

Hello, Can someone tell me the case scenarios (or best practices) for using “paragraph spacing before and after”. I am setting up my project’s editor and I want to make sure that I do it properly so I don’t have to go back and fix it.

Thank you - in advance - for your help!

Michael

I am not a professional typesetter, mind you, but here is what I believe:

I think, as a general rule, space-after does almost all the work.

Forget Scrivener for a second and let’s just think about typeset text in a book.

1. Suppose you are looking at a book whose body text paragraphs have no first line indent, but whose paragraphs are instead marked by a line’s worth of spacing between paragraphs. Where is that spacing coming from? Those paragraphs are set with some space-after.

2. But now suppose we are looking at a book whose regular paragraphs have no space between and are distinguished only by first-line indent. However, when we come to an extended quotation in the book, the quoted text is set off in a block which has inset margins left and right and, notice, is not set flush up against the paragraphs before and after it, but is given some linespace above and below. This now is something to be achieved using both space-before and space-after (though this means one must treat paragraph breaks within the quotation itself in a special way). Something similar could be said about certain headings/sub-headings in text — some of which will have extra spacing before in order to make a visual break from the previous section. That is another case where space-before has a role to play.