Parts and chapters

Hi, I am new to Scrivener and already close to giving it up.
The reason is that I don’t manage to get the simplest possible structure compiled:

Part One: Beginnings
Chapter One: How it started
Chapter Two: Oh dear
Part Two: Incidents
Chapter One: More events
Chapter Two: Oh boy

Everythings comes out as Chapter:
Chapter One: Beginnings
Chapter Two: How it started…

I have tried dozens of templates from various sources (including, of course, the ones delivered with Scrivener), but always had the same results.

My question: how do I tell Scrivener that a folder is on the Parts-Level or on the Chapters-Level?
Just nesting files in folders doesn’t do the trick.
Plus: I only ever get Level 1+ formats. Various people talk abotu Level 2+ formats… I have never seen one. How do I produce one of those?

I have read the Scrivener handbook (and about a dozen blogs), but I haven’t found a solution yet and any help would be appreciated.

M.

There is a template (Fiction->Novel(with Parts)), that should start out with the presets you want. You can create a new project from that template and then drag what you have created/imported from the first project’s binder into the other project’s binder to get started that way. Or just create a dummy project to see how things are set up in the compile dialogue.

To create a new level, you have to be viewing the expanded Compile window (there’s an arrow button to the right of the “format as” drop-down list for that).
Under Formatting in that window, you will see an “Options…” button, and to it’s right, another button with a small + sign and what implies a new level. Highlight row below that which shows a blue folder labeled “Level 1 +” then click that button to create a Level 2 row.