Pg Break Before

I’m new to Scrivener (like it a lot), and trying to compile my manuscript.
I started my project using the “Novel Standard Manuscript Format.”
I went to compile to a word doc, checked the “pg break before” for all my chapters and exported. Opening the word doc in Pages showed no page breaks and no page numbering. When I print to PDF, everything works fine. Am I missing something? Does Pages not open these correctly?

I exported in RTF to Pages and had better luck; so you might try that.
As for page numbers; create a header in Pages and Insert Page Number on the far right.

Yes, unfortunately Pages cannot read RTF very well - it ignores page breaks, images, headers and footers, footnotes, comments and so on. (On the other hand, the standard OS X .doc exporter which Scrivener is forced to rely on doesn’t support footnotes, comments, images and so on.)

KB: I’m confused by your answer. As I said, “I went to compile to a word doc, checked the “pg break before” for all my chapters and exported.”

But your answer seemed like you thought I was exporting to RTF: “Yes, unfortunately Pages cannot read RTF very well - it ignores page breaks, images, headers and footers, footnotes, comments and so on.”

I’m exporting to word, Export Format = Microsoft Word (DOC), and then opening the word doc with pages. When I look at the doc, my page breaks & page numbers are not there. My question is - is the export broken, or is Pages just not able to correctly view a Word Doc created by Scrivener, or have I found a bug?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sorry, I didn’t explain properly. In previous versions of Scrivener, .doc files were internally .rtf files. In the current version, .doc files are only internally .rtf files if the document contains features such as images, footnotes or a header or footer. If none of these things are present, it will be exported as a true .doc file.
All the best,
Keith

This sounds like the problem I’ve been having.