Phonetic/Furigana support?

I am starting to do a lot of work in Japanese where I need to include furigana, phonetic pronunciations over kanji, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Furigana is a good example. I’ve only found a few western programs that support this, Word being the most common.

However, I just discovered Scrivener yesterday and it’s interface is perfect for the sort of documents I’m writing. I often have two or three source materials in either English or Japanese on my screen at the same time as I’m writing a document in English or Japanese.

While I’ve been writing software for ~20 years, I’m pretty ignorant of how OSX handles fonts, typesetting, etc. It appears that furigana support in Word is part of the Phonetic Tool and has nothing to do with Kotoeri support in OSX. Is it a matter of supporting phonetics in general for all languages at the application level?

thanks,

–jet

Hmm, maybe someone else who is more conversant in the use of different languages on OS X can answer this… Certainly, Scrivener relies on fonts and languages built into OS X, so it depends on what OS X can support by default…
All the best,
Keith

Hi jet,

Welcome to the wonderful world of Scrivener :slight_smile:

It’s a pity that Maria seems to have disappeared off the forum as she would probably have been best placed to answer the question. As a mere Chinese user I can’t really talk for Japanese.

Microsoft uses it’s own text-engine — in '08 version rewritten in cocoa; earlier versions were carbon and I don’t use Word so I don’t know how much difference that has made — so however they handle Furigana won’t apply to the Apple text-engine. Also, I have to say, that in spite of having been made to dabble in Japanese for about a year some 40 years ago, I don’t actually know what Furigana look like.