Photo Size for the latest tablet resolution

Hello Guys,
before i am new in the forum. My name is Claudio Giovenzana, from italy. I am travelling taking picture and writing… unfortunately mainly in italian.

Anyway… i am converting to epub on of my book and i wonder which is a FUTURE PROOF photo resolution considering the increasing quality of the tablet in the market…
Here i have read that a good rule of thumb is 800x600 72 dpi… but i wonder if it is enough for devices with retina display
i am a photographer so i have plenty of very good photos to put in the ebook i don’t want to leave them low res and size to save space… a good balance between quality and size would be great

Any idea?

thanks!

Future proof would be to treat digital work with the same quality that we currently do for print work. Although most printers do not actually print at 300 DPI, that’s the industry standard because it is much easier to scale something down than up. So tablet bearing book sellers like Amazon and Apple are currently suggesting 300 DPI. This works well with the current crop of high resolution displays (which are around 200 to 300 pixels per inch, and likely won’t need to go much beyond that as we’re getting close to what the human eye needs to see things clearly). In my opinion that’s something to shoot for one if quality really matters (which it sounds like it does), because that really going to bloat the book size by a lot, especially if there are many images.

Thanks Ioa,
i have to do the math to discover a full tablet page photo would weight at 300 dpi… quite scare about it,
Astrid told me there are some size restriction for the ebooks in some websites.
so i better take care of it.

And last but not least,