Pilcrow vs. Curved Stem Pilcrow?

I’m having a weird formatting issue that I’ve never seen before in other programs. I’m pretty new to Scrivener and I’m formatting some text I’ve made in another program so I’ve got hidden characters shown. However, I’ve got a weird thing going on with my pilcrows (those paragraph symbols); some are the normal pilcrow, some are this weird curved stem pilcrow I’ve never seen before. It seems to be random which is which. The issue is the normal paragraph symbol takes the formatting of the next line of text, not the text it’s on, so it really messes with leading.

Any insight into what’s going on?

Edit: I’ve discovered that the curved stem pilcrow is for when the next paragraph is the same style as the current one. So that means my issue is that the normal paragraph return is using the wrong style. And, any formatting i do to that hidden character affects the next line’s style. So weird!

[attachment=0]2020-09-24.png[/attachment]

How are you importing the text from the other program? Are you copy/pasting or…? If copy/paste, are you using “paste and match style” option, or do you specifically want to keep original formatting?
If I’m not misunderstanding what you’re doing/seeing, it sounds like the style from your other program is being pulled into Scrivener and causing the mismatch between Scrivener’s style and what you’re bringing in. If you don’t care to keep original formatting, “paste and match style” is better option.
These may also help, if you want to change the default styles of your project so that when you “paste and match style”, it’ll be pasting in the format you want:
[url]How do you set default indents, font etc for all documents?]
[url]How do I set font and format defaults?]