Please help...CAN ONLY OPEN OLD PROJECT

Greetings,
I’m new and I think I made a mistake.
A few hours into working on my project (it was still open). I UNNECESSARILY REOPENED the Project FROM DESKTOP (it was not showing the AUTO DATE SAVES)

WHEN I REOPENED PROJECT, IT SHOWS THE VERSION FROM 3 HOURS AGO (MY 3 hours of writing are NOWHERE).

HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE???

WHEN I OPEN MY PROJECT IT IS A 3 HOUR OLD VERSION. I CANNOT VIEW MY LAST THREE HOURS OF WORK.

I KNOW THERE ARE SUPPOSED TO BE BACKUPS. HOWEVER, WHEN I OPEN BACKUP OR REGULAR COPY THEY BOTH SHOW 3 HOUR OLD PROJECT!

PLEASE HELP with 2 THINGS
1)WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? and how can I avoid.

  1. How can I access the 5 latest updates in case this happens again?

THANK YOU

You posted in the Windows section.
Your profile says you have Mac.
You have only described the end result, not what you did and anything else of relevance.

Start all over. Describe what devices you are using, what versions of Scrivener you use on each, where your project is stored, and in detail what you did that led up to the result you described.