Possibility to change add keyboard shortcuts

Maybe this is something that can already be done but I haven’t figured out how. I’m pretty new to Scrivener and I’m loving it. One thing that is a bit frustrating, though, is to adapt to some of the non-standard key combinations.

So, for instance, in most Mac apps if you want to increase the size of the characters appearing on the screen (without changing the font size), i.e. ‘zoom in’, you use cmd-+. In Scrivener, however, you use a different key combination. I’d like to be able to assign cmd + to zoom in and cmd - to zoom out. Same for other key shortcuts. I’d like to be able to create my own.

Would this be too hard to implement?

Thanks for the great product.

PS. Scrivener hasn’t provided a solution for my current writer’s block crisis (or is this part of my more serious problem: severe procrastination?). Can I also request a feature to solve this problem?

Josep M.

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words, and welcome to the forums!

Actually in most Mac apps that have editable rich text, cmd-+ and cmd-- control the font size - they are only standard for zooming in and out in apps that don’t have rich text. Scrivener therefore uses the same keyboard shortcuts as Pages for zooming in and out. However, one great thing about OS X is that it allows you to customise the keyboard shortcuts for almost any application via the System Preferences. We have instructions on how to do this here:

literatureandlatte.com/wiki/ … _shortcuts

One thing to bear in mind is that if you want to swap keyboard shortcuts - for instance if you want to change “Zoom In” to cmd-+, which is already assigned to Format > Font > Bigger - you will need to change the keyboard shortcuts for both.

I wish for this feature too, alas it has proved difficult to implement!

All the best,
Keith

The Catch-22 effect: you need the feature in order to create the feature…