I’m not sure this is a bug because I don’t know how reinstalls are intended to work for Scrivener, but it seems like an uninstall performed in order to reinstall a later version should keep the user’s settings. This isn’t currently the case. For example, I had set the default font (and other basic settings) with the Windows 3.0 beta version 14, and when I uninstalled that per instructions to reinstall v15, those settings had reverted to defaults. Some other settings (like defined styles) were retained.
Here’s the case for this being a bug: I think that one of these statements must be true, and in both cases, user settings must be kept:
Upgrades are performed by uninstalling and reinstalling. This is the current model according to the instructions when installing. If this is the case, user settings must be kept.
Upgrades are performed without uninstalling. If this were the case, user settings must still be kept.
Hope this is helpful.
That’s verbiage from the very beginning of the beta tests when the automated updater wasn’t working yet. There are a number of us who have been using that as our primary upgrade method for many versions now to make sure those routines are working reliably. I understand why that verbiage hasn’t been removed, but it is extraneous for many cases now.