Powerpoint "research" files?

I’m new to Scrivener - just bought it today after a couple of weeks’ trial - and obviously I’m a fan. That’s the thing about try-before-you-buy, right? I write fiction, but pay the rent as a business/marketing copywriter.

On my first ‘work’ project in the trial period, I loved the way I could drag my research and SME files into the research area - it’s great to have all those resources at hand - until it came to a Powerpoint file, which wouldn’t load. I worked around it - PPT can save as Word and can print to PDF - but it would make the job easier if I could just drag PPTs into the project as research. I get a LOT of Powerpoint files as source files (let me state clearly, I loathe Powerpoint, but there are people out there who use it for outlining, for rough sketches, etc.)

If there’s a way to do this that I haven’t found, apologies for clogging the wish list. I searched the topics but nothing about Powerpoint came up.

I’ve never thought of PPT files as research. For me, they are greatly boiled down presentations of my research, sort of cartoons for public audiences. The files are often huge, so if Scriv could read them, you’d have a very fat project file.

A possible work-around: create a Smart Folder in the Finder for All Presentations (or sorted by topics) and then use Quick Look to find the ones you’re after. You will still have to launch them to see their contents. If any are really crucial to your Scriv project, I’d export them to Word and save those files. You’ll only get the text (and not the Notes), but that’s probably the most important bits, anyway.

BTW, KeyNote does a great job of opening PPT files, if you don’t want to work with the originals.