Printing items under binder heading as one document

I’m brand new to Scrivener. Giving it a trial on a small [overdue] writing project. I had a draft document that included notes for revision. I broke the sections down into separate items under the “research” heading in the binder. When start to work on polishing a section I move it up under the “draft” heading in the binder, which I’ve renamed with the name of my project.

I would like to print all the items under each heading as one continuous document. I don’t see how to do that. I tried compiling, but no matter what I have selected, a top level header or one of the sub items, Scrivener prints only the first item under the header.

I understood Scrivener encourages breaking larger projects into smaller components this way. I assumed when I broke my document down the way I have I’d still be able to print it as one document. Any help would be appreciated.

It appears at this point that Scrivener has a steep, and possibly long, learning curve. I’ve had the experience of software that impresses me that way initially becoming intuitive, so I have an open mind. But I’m a bit anxious about the time it’s going to take and about possibly getting locked into a complicated, self-contained system that makes it difficult to move notes, drafts, and documents back and forth between other applications. Any reassurance anyone might be able to offer would also be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lacking a good conceptualisation of what your project and compile settings look like, I’ll instead show you a simple example that you can use to compare with what you are seeing. Here is a very basic Draft:

I’m not sure if this is what you are trying to do, but it sounds like it from the description: it sounds like you wish to export, say, “Two” as a separate article with all of its sub-files (e,f,g,h) as a single document. Let’s take a look at how to do that in compile: