Problem sending Scrivener file as Entourage email attachment

This is my first post on this Board and I will admit it - I am a Scrivener Newb! I am also a serious writer and a good friend who uses Scrivener recently highly recommended it to me as a writing/outlining tool - he convinced me to try it out and I became so fascinated by - and enamored of - some of its features - that I dived in and bought a copy…and so far it has proven to be an interesting and valuable thinking and organizing tool. So…that’s my disclaimer.

Here’s the problem. I am collaborating with another writer on a project - whom I also convinced to get a copy of Scrivener - and after a recent work session, I created a complex new Scivener document for outlining this particular project. So far so good…right? But now the PROBLEM - when I attempted to email my Scrivener file to my collaborator…my email program wouldn’t do it!

DETAILS - The program in question is Microsoft Entourage 2004 (which normally is an excellent and powerful email app) - which I am running on my trusty old 12" G4 Powebook (which is running OS 10.4.11, with oodles of RAM). When I attempted to add my Scrivener file as an “Attachment” to an email, here’s what Entourage told me, in boldface – (lets call my file NewProject here)

“Entourage cannot attach the item NewProject.scriv”

• and then in smaller letters underneath, it adds -

“Aladdin Systems Stuffit Software must be installed on your computer in order to attach this item to a message”

Needless to say, I was stupefied - stunned - disbelieving - and irritated. What’s the story here? Why won’t my email attach a Scrivener document?