Problem using manuscript-novel.xslt

I’d love to be able to take my novel straight from Scrivener to PDF. It would be great if I didn’t have to massage it in MS Word at all. It seemed to me that MMD + LaTex could be a great way to go about this. Particularly since I heard that there was already a “manuscript-novel” transformation that comes along with MMD. (I want my novel to be printed in a traditional novel manuscript format.)

So I installed MMD. I installed MacTex-2009. I tried using the “manuscript-novel.xslt” file. And I got errors. Even using the sample document that came part of manuscript example in the “fletcher-multimarkdown-gallery”, I get errors. (FYI, I’m fairly new to the Mac and very new to MMD, LaTex, etc. so I could be making an obvious mistake here.)

Specifically, if I run either of these commands on the sample MMD text:

./mmd2PDF.pl manuscript-novel.txt
– or –
./mmd2PDFXeLaTex.pl manuscript-novel.txt

After a dozen lines of successfully accessing various .sty files, I get this error:

! Undefined control sequence.
l.66 \doublespacing

If I proceed past this error, I get more and more errors. For example:

! Undefined control sequence.
l.79 \if@titlepage

And so on. As another data point, I can use XSLT files like “memoir.xslt” without a problem. It’s just that I want this document to be in the standard novel manuscript format… Are there other xslt files that can lead me to what I’m looking for? The memoir.xslt result seems pretty different than what I need…

Any advice? Any alternative approaches? I know this isn’t directly related to Scrivener, but I’m really just trying to find a way to get from Scrivener to a novel manuscript PDF as painlessly as possible and so I thought a Scrivener forum might be a place to look for advice…

In case it is useful, I’ve attached:

(1) the error output
(2) the original manuscript-novel.txt document
(3) the resulting manuscript-novel.tex file
(4) my version manuscript-novel.xslt