Problem with CTRL + C

Hi, I’m new to Scrivener, but after a couple of weeks using it, I’ve suddenly found a problem. I don’t know why, but now, if I try to copy text (either CTRL + C or using the dropdown menu in Edit), the program closes. It wasn’t doing this before, but since I installed the upgrade that just came out, it’s doing this. Any ideas?

What version of Windows are you running? Have you updated any other software recently? Another user just reported this in the bug forum, but we’ve got very little to work with. Is there a specific set of steps that triggers this–e.g. if you need to first click here, and then open there, and then select the text and copy–or if does it only occur when copying text from certain parts of the Scrivener window (e.g. only in the editor, never in the document notes or synopsis)? If you restart your computer in Safe Mode (hold the F8 key during the boot sequence), are you able to copy text in Scrivener without the program closing?

I’m using Windows 7. I did the restart in Safe Mode as you suggested, and that seems to have fixed it! I had been working only in the editor, and basically, i’d select text, hit CTRL + C, and the window would just close. (It did the same thing with CTRL + X.) The only thing I did before was install the Scrivener update. But it seems to be fixed now.

Just a follow-up: It happened again, this time when I used CTRL + V, and wouldn’t yet me use any editing functions (program would close when I did). I restarted and it cleared up.

Thanks for the extra details. Are you saying that having run Scrivener in Safe Boot, you’re now no longer experiencing the problem when running normally? Or does the problem reoccur if you’re not using Safe Mode?