Procedure for Sharing via Thumb Drive

Since I’m new to Mac, I’d like to confirm that the following procedure would work well. I have an iMac at home, and Windows laptop.

1. When I’m ready to leave on a trip, I backup then save the current project to a thumb drive.
  2. On the laptop, I open the project from the thumb drive and save it to the laptop hard drive
  3. On the trip I work on the project on the laptop
  4. When I get home, on the laptop, I save the project to the thumb drive.
  5. On the iMac, I load the project from the thumb drive and save it to the iMac hard drive.

That should work fine, right?

Thanks.

That’s how I always did it. I didn’t have wifi at home until about 6 months ago, and even before I was using a Mac I often needed to get a project on both my Windows desktop and laptop. Somehow copying never seemed as sure a thing to me as doing a Save As to the USB. It does mean being very careful where things are saving and which is the most recent version.

Now that I do have wifi, I finally got brave and installed Dropbox on all my machines, but that also means being very careful, doesn’t it? It always looks to me as if the majority of pleas for help on these boards have to do with problems going back and forth no matter the method.

That should work fine. It’s a matter of taste, but what I do myself is more like this:

1. When I’m ready to switch computers, from the open project I use the File ▸ Back Up ▸ Back Up To… menu command, with the .zip option enabled. Compression will reduce the file read/write overhead to one instead of potentially thousands, and with thumb drives tending to be a bit on the slow side, that can make a huge difference in how long the save process takes.
  2. On the second computer I then copy the .zip off using the file manager and extract it, replacing the old copy of the project with the new one.