Project has become un-synced with... itself?

I have been using Scrivener since 2007. I have a “main projects” project, in which I do everything. My PhD dissertation was in there; letters of recommendation for my students; grant proposals from 10 years ago… everything.

Recently I purchased an iPad, and naturally I wanted to see if I could use it on the road for writing and have everything sync with my computer at home. I discovered (through my hunting and pecking through forums and whatnot) that the only “certain” way to do this was to use Dropbox.

So, I took the entire Scrivener folder, which includes the draft and notes folder, and moved it from where I had been storing it in iCloud into its new home in Dropbox.

The result was unexpected. I can open my main project, and all of the files are still there in my binder… but there are no words for any of those files. It is as if the binder has lost link with the actual text files somehow. Same situation for all of my research items (pictures, video clips, etc). They all show up in my binder, but they are empty and have no substance. Ditto for my Scratchpad notes.

I can see all of the .txt files in the notes, draft, and scratchpad notes files, but I cannot open them as .rtf files with Text Edit like I normally would be able to do. Out of desperation I moved the entire Scrivener folder back to iCloud drive, hoping that I would be able to magically restore the link between the binder and its contents, but that has not worked.

Does anyone have any ideas of how I could reestablish things to the way they were without having to go through almost 20 years of files one-by-one?

Thanks in advance.

I don’t know Mac, so can’t give you any detailed guidance, except:

1. This is where your zipped backups will save you. They are the simplest, easiest way to restore a Scrivener project. On Windows Scriv, the folder where your zipped backups are stored is determined by the Scriv setting found at File > Options > Backup.