Project Search: does not scroll the the first search result in the text

Admittedly I’m new to Scrivener, but I read the user manual and still can’t get figure out what’s going on with Project Search. I’m on Mac OS 12.1, using Scrivener 3.2.3, working on a manuscript with 12 chapters and a bunch of other miscellaneous folders. My magnifying glass settings are: All/All words/Manuscript only. When I search on a word, the results are listed in the left as expected, but when I click on a result, sometimes I’m taken to the page where the result is highlighted, and sometimes I’m taken to a few pages away from the highlighted result, to a page that has no highlighting. I have to scroll a few pages up or down to find the highlighted word. For example, the search result is on page 6, and I’m taken to page 4. Any idea what’s going on?

I think it is more a matter of expectations, than you or the software doing anything wrong. When you load an item in the binder sidebar it will 99% of the time load where you last left off working in it, so you can pick up where you left off. That you clicked on an item with a search generating the list, vs the normal binder list or collections (which you might not have explored yet) is irrelevant, the behaviour is always the same and consistent.

After all, we cannot presume that the reason you searched is because you want to actually find and zoom to that text (and then which text, the first, the last?). You might simply be gathering items together that meet some qualification, such as mentioning a topic, and wishing to work with these sections of text in a general way. Losing your place, in that case, would be annoying and even mildly destructive.