Project structure and targets

Ok… it is 10 pm and I think I am procrastinating. Or I am really tired and just look for some “easy” work to get done… and would very much appreciate some help (I am fairly new to Scrivener, having decided to dump Word in order to get some nice “chunky” writing done).
I am working on my PhD thesis. It is (as of now…) structured into:
6 chapters, each with 3-5 subchapters or parts.
each chapter is a folder
the parts within this folder are mostly files, but if they are really large and multitopical, they can also be folders.
question a) do you think that is a good way of structuring, or are there much better ones?
question b) I love wordcounting for motivation. Now, the overall target is 75.000 words. I’ve managed to set this as the “Draft target.” Easy! I also know how to set a target for individual files. But: I want the folders to actually have a target. Say: Chapter 1: 20.000 words, split into 10.000 words for part 1 and 10.000 words for part 2. Somehow I have the idea that since part 1 and 2 are contained in the folder “Chapter 1” the wordcount should add up towards the overall chapter target (which I can’t set somehow anyway). Erm… am I explaining that somehow logically? The question then would be: is this possible, and if so, how???

Thanks very much for having kept on reading!

In reverse order: