Proper formatting of parts and chapters when compiling?

I’m new to Scrivener and am stumped trying to figure this out. I’ve searching the Help but I can’t find the answer to my specific problem. Any help would be great.

I’ve got my draft split into two levels - top level folders are Parts, and second level I want to be Chapters. However when I go to compile, it just made all the folders into chapters. I changed the hierarchy in the compile settings so that the top level folder prefix is “Part”, but then there’s another problem - It still is numbering each folder, no matter what the level, as a chapter. I need the second level folders to have their own numbering within the top level folder…I hope this makes even a small amount of sense! So what I want is this:

Part 1
_Chapter 1
_Chapter 2
_Chapter 3

Part 2
_Chapter 1
_Chapter 2
_Chapter 3

But what I am getting is this:

Part 1
_Chapter 2
_Chapter 3
_Chapter 4

Part 5
_Chapter 6
_Chapter 7
_Chapter 3

Any suggestions on how to do this would be great! Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Ok, I thought I’d solved the problem by reading this thread: https://forum.literatureandlatte.com/t/parts-show-up-as-chapters-when-compiled/10386/10

However, the problem is only half-solved. By using the “Custom” compile settings in the “Novel (with parts)” template, I am now getting something like this:

Part 1
_Chapter 1
_Chapter 2
_Chapter 3

so far so good, but in part two i get this…

Part 2
_Chapter 3
_Chapter 4
_Chapter 5

I need the chapters in part two to be numbered independently of part one. Gah!