Quality of typography?

Complete newbie here (sorry!) … I could be crazy, but in my first half hour of experimenting, pasting in text from my word processor (Nisus), I could swear that the rendering isn’t as sharp/clean in Scrivner. Am I nuts? I would assume they are both using the built-in OSX rendering, but … there’s just something not right, especially in the kerning?

In the attachments, look at the space between the o and the s in “hostile” in both programs … there are other examples you can see in the screenshots.

Maybe I’ve missed a basic kerning setting …

Thanks for your help!
nisus.png
scrivener.png

Both use exactly the same text engine, yes. At different scales, however, Nisus does have the advantage. They’ve done a lot of customisation to the text system, and I’m not entirely sure why kerning looks better at larger scales in Nisus, but Scrivener’s scaling works the same as in many other OS X text apps such as Bean and TextEdit too…
Best,
Keith

Something looks a little malfunctioned to me, in that second screenshot. That is distractingly bad kerning, and I’ve been trying to reproduce this but cannot. I typed in the same text you provided into NWP, and set the font to Adobe Garamond Pro, 24pt. Then I pasted the text into Scrivener and the result is identical, down to the pixel. I lined up to the two screenshots in Photoshop and there isn’t a single difference between the two.

So some things to try: Documents/Convert/Formatting to Default Text Style, of course. Though if this is a custom font you might want to avoid that as it will blow it away and anything else in the document.

The kerning and other typesetting tools are in the Text/Font sub-menu. You might want to try selecting the text and setting kerning to Default.

With the latest Nisus and Scrivener running on Leopard the font rendering is exactly the same.

I’ve attached a superimposition of the two. The grey, grey is a scaling problem that’s probably from the screen capture utility I used.