Quick Notes entry from outside the app

I am new to Scrivener, but I noticed that there isn’t any means of integration with other apps (like note-taking apps for me). I have used Bear and am now using SideNotes. Notes could be auto-entered via a Scrivener widget in Notification. Center, for example. Or IFTTT could publish support for Scrivener, so it could be attached to actions and tied into other apps.

I’ve been through the tutorial and haven’t found any feature in Scrivener that is like this. Does anyone have the same need (hope…) for this sort of integration with other apps?

The Scratchpad can be used for this. It’s a universal notepad for all Scrivener projects.

I have my Scratchpad folder in my Dropbox folder and use it e.g with Drafts 4. I write something and r´then send it to the Scratchpad folder where it becomes its own text file. In Scrivener I open the Scratchpad, pick the note I want and insert it where I want it.

@lunk’s approach is similar to the one I use (Scratchpad in Dropbox plus a text editor). In fact, it means you can use just about any text editor you want – even on a phone or tablet.

I’ve looked at widgets in the past but the problem with them for Scrivener is that they have to operate completely independently of the app itself (obviously). Bear and Notes etc don’t work with multiple projects, but just have a single repository of texts. So a widget just has to add a new note to that central repository, and the app can load it. In Scrivener, however, there is no central repository - you can have different .scriv projects all over your hard drive. And there’s no good mechanism for a widget to be able to choose a project to send a note to.

All the best,
Keith

How about a widget that just displays info. Eg, a project specific widget that says the project name, perhaps a cover image, the date of the last edit, and the current mansucript word count…?