Quicknotes or indexcards through dashboard, mail and iphone.

As a non-full-time writer I ususally have to make notes on the fly while at my other work or when ever (not saying that this is not the case for full-time writers). Usually I just jot tings down on in a notebook dedicated to the project and then copy it over to my draft or research folder when I get home or when I start Scrivener the next time.

A feature that would simplify this process would be a dashboard widget or a hotkey kombination that would bring up an indexcard, as the ones in scrivener, to jot my idea down on. Select the project it belongs to through a drop down menu of sorts, just hit save and next time I open scrivener the indexcard should be in the draft or research folder or in a separate folder called inbox.

This feature could be extended to cover more ways of jotting down notes, say for example on your iphone or ipod touch. When you sync your hardware the note goes in you inbox of that project in Scrivener. It would also be cool if one could make a smart mailbox in mail that would recieve all mails with a sertain frase in them (the name of a project for example) and scrivener would copy all text in these mails to the inbox of the project it is connected to. The mail could be converted to a text document in the scrivener inbox.

These features would very much help in my otherwise scattered writing life.

Thanks for a great application

Best regards

Peter

the first part of your request already exists - it’s called Scratch Pad and it’s under the window menu. It’s able to float above other applications and you can show and hide it using the hotkey Command /

Robin

This sounds like a piece of work for Keith.

But I’m not sure if Scrivener is the right application for collecting notes. Actually, I’m quite sure that it is not.