"Readable" place for chapter notes

Greetings all,

This is my first post to the Scrivener forum. I am also fairly new to Scrivener itself and am rather bumbling around trying to find what will work best for me with the software. I do have Ms. Hernandez’s book and find it extremely helpful.

Right now I have a proliferation of notes which are burgeoning within the Project Notes area. The problem is that some of these are applicable to the entire novel that I am writing and some only to a particular chapter. I would like to be able to extract out the “chapter” notes and place them somewhere “readable”. I like that there are document notes, but, given the potential amount of text that I might want to add, the width that they appear in even if one removes the binder from the screen is fairly narrow. It would be really helpful to me to have a place to put my notes in a “space/document” that can be expanded a bit wider. With this in mind, are these my only options?

Create a notes document in the binder for each chapter. This would certainly help if I wanted to work in split-screen mode and I can always uncheck the “Include in Compile” checkbox so that it is not included in the text proper of the novel.

Or I could work in “Compose” mode and bring up the document notes and stretch it so that it is a bit wider and more readable for me.

Are there other ways to have document/chapter-level notes visible and editable while I work on the actual chapter itself? I wasn’t sure about this, but was hoping that someone within the forum might have some suggestions.

Thank you so much for anything you folks can come up with. Take care.

Dave Nolan

Dave,

Have a look at Project Notes (Project > Project Notes, or cmd-opt-P). This is a sizeable, floating window which by default is meant to keep all your generic notes about the project. The window is available in Composition mode as well as the standard editor.