Regular manual backups and possible crashings

Hi!

I’ve been using Scrivener iOS (iPad) for years, since it was released and I’ve been really happy with it. Absolutely zero issues or defects, It has been always working perfectly. Yesterday I purchased a new iPad (6th Generation, 2018) for specially my writing needs and I’m using Apple Wireless Keyboard. Works like a charm and I’m so pleased with this combo. Scrivener and other apps synced perfectly into my new iPad and all my projects from Dropbox got there without issues.

And now we’re getting into the point. As a human being, as a curious animal, I thought to give a shot to Ulysses iOS. Yes, I’ve been using Scrivener and I love it, but I thought to give a try to Ulysses since I’m starting to write my second novel (I’m a published author) and I’m exploring all the tools as a writer. But behold, when I installed Ulysses and I tried to open it, it just got stuck, totally freezed. Nothing worked, no reinstall, no restarting the iPad, no tweaking the settings etc. Everytime it just got stuck in the starting screen. I contacted their support if they can help me, but I must say, my trust for Ulysses is gone. If the app won’t even start, how I can work with it, how I can rely on it, to put thousands of hours into it and to be scared that if it got frozen once, why wouldn’t it do it again? But of course, I have Scrivener and I’m continuing to use it, so no real worries. But, questions arised.

And here’s the question for you, guys. Because the app didn’t work, it got me thinking. What IF Scrivener does the same? What IF our precious projects suddenly stop working and something goes terribly wrong with the .scriv file and we’re unable to retrieve it from the Dropbox? What IF the app just messes everything up? I read one Youtube comment from a writer who lost his Scrivener project files without a reason, but I doubt that. I think he messed it up, not the Scrivener.