Replacing scene titles with numbers when compiling

Hi,
I am doing my first serious compile of a 97k novel. I have written in scenes, each one a separate file under a folder named Scenes.this is so I can flip between the scenes knowing exactly which one I’m looking for. I have avoided divisions into chapters at this stage. I have titled each file so I know what happens, e.g. At the Pavillion etc, but in compiling a pdf for some beta readers I don’t want them to see my titles, but just have each scene numbered in order, so when they write their feedback, we both know which scene they are referring to.
I am a newbie to the Compile feature but have managed to set up a Custom one I have saved. It hasn’t helped that all the tutorials seem to be from a different version, ie. I don’t have Projects>Project Settings, etc.
Can someone help me get compile to do this without changing the scene titles in the Project itself?
Thanks.

Anyone??
Any thoughts?desparate to get this compiled.

Hello! I’m going to assume that you’re using one of the Novel compile formats that come with Scrivener 3. If I bore you with stuff you already know, please forgive me :smiley:

First, I assume that the section type you’ve assigned to your scenes is in fact, “Scene”. If not, please start with setting that, in the Inspector or from the outliner view.

Next, select File > Compile… Right-click or Command-click on your current compile format, and choose “Duplicate and edit format…” or just “Edit format…” if it’s not greyed out.

Now click on “Section layouts”. Click on whatever section layout you’re using for your scenes now. Click on the plus sign in the upper right corner, and you’ll get a duplicate of that layout. Name it “Numbered scene”. Be sure that the Title checkbox is NOT checked.

Click on “Title Options” below the list of layouts. In the Title Prefix: box, type “Scene <$t:scene>”. Click “Save”.