Revisions Mode vs Snapshots vs Backups

Confused by the awkward zoo of version control affordances offered within Scrivener. Why not integrate all three in an intuitive and easily managed multiuser/suggest/edit/compare/revise/timeline/branching multithreaded versioning system?

Probably because that would require writing a brand new RTF parsing engine that was able to perform that, rather than working with the native MacOS TextKit engine and adding on from there.

2 Likes

Why replace three distinctly different systems,with different use cases, with a complicated…

… which doesn’t sound intuitive at all?

1 Like

Ah, you use Git too? :wink:

Because they are all the same thing. You are confusing integration with complexity. I am a user interface designer. I suggest and build intuitive solutions. What is confusing is the notion that a hairbrush is a different devise when it is used on a Labrador instead of a Pointer.

No. But I can think.

Please explain. I’ve designed plenty of Mac applications in many use domains. I’ve never found that good interaction design can’t be accomplished as a result of apple standards.

No, you are suggesting that a hairbrush is the same as a hairdryer because both are used on hair.

Reread my original post.

A backup creates an independent copy of the entire project.

A snapshot creates a copy of an individual document, allowing simple comparisons between versions within a single project. It is probably the closest to a “version control” tool in the sense that systems like Git use the term.

Revision Mode provides tools for indicating changes within a single copy of a document.

While there are technical reasons why Scrivener does not offer a “multiuser/suggest/edit/compare/revise/timeline/branching multithreaded versioning system,” the primary reason is that such a system would be out of scope. Scrivener is a tool for writers, not programmers and not “content managers.”