Runtime Error when starting Scrivener

Hi,

I downloaded the final version of Scrivener for Windows a few days ago. Today, I found the time to install and use Scrivener. The installation ran fine, and I also could start Scrivener one time. I tried to run the Interactive Tutorial because I’m new with Scrivener. To safe the files for the tutorial, I chose a folder on my Desktop. Then, the applicantion crashed, and I got an error message (Screenshot attached).

Since then, I’m unable to start Scrivener anymore. Everytime I try to start Scrivener, it immediately crashes with the same error message.

Can you help?
RuntimeError.png

I’m very sorry for the crash! I haven’t seen this one before–all you did was start to create a new tutorial via the New Project panel (or from Help > Interactive Tutorial)? Are you running Vista?

The surest way around this, unfortunately, is to just uninstall and reinstall Scrivener. Navigate in Explorer to wherever you installed the program and from the Scrivener directory run “uninstall.exe”. (Alternatively, you can open the Control Panel and use Windows’ Programs & Features pane to do this.) Ensure that the entire Scrivener directory is deleted from Windows Explorer–you can do it manually if the uninstaller doesn’t take care of it–and then run the installer again.

Thats a real weird problem.

First, I followed your advice and uninstalled Scrivener completely. For the reinstallation, I used a “fresh” copy of Scrivener, just to make shure the dowloaded file was not corrupted. I also deleted the folder in which Scrivener stored the files for the Tutorial on my desktop. Then, I started Scrivener, and it started without crash.

Then, I tried to recreate the Tutorial Project again. I clicked on the “Open” button, moved to a new folder to safe the files, clicked on “Save”… And crash. Same problem like before.