Same version, different computer, problem opening!

Hi all,

Newbie here…

Yesterday I downloaded the trial version (not Gold) to my Mac at work…all good. I saved several backups of a file to my USB over the day. In the evening, I saved another and modified the title so it just had main.scriv, rather than main [13-9 etc…].scriv.

This evening I’ve also downloaded another trial to my home Mac. All the dated backups open fine, but the modified file (which has my day’s work in!) doesn’t open. Now, I do have it still on my work computer so all should be fine, but what has happened here? My home computer is telling me that the modified-title file was created on Scriv Gold and then that it can’t open it. But all the others are fine.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!
Nicola

PS. Have now bought the license for the software! It’s fab ;o)

Have you still got Scrivener Gold on one of your hard drives? Could you have accidentally double-clicked on the file so that it was opened in Scrivener Gold by mistake?
Best,
Keith

Never fear twisted if all else fails you can click once one the .scriv file and right click (if you have a two button mouse) or (Control+Click for a one button mouse) to pull up the finder contextual menu. Select Show Package Contents and you can retrieve your files in RTF format.

This is of course a last ditch effort and need only be done if everything else Keith suggests fails :slight_smile:

(I love that about scriv)

Thanks for the suggestions…esp. the show package contents!!

In response though, I definitely don’t have an old version of Scrivener - yesterday was the first time I used it.

I’ve tried opening the file at work this morning and the same message :frowning: Could this be because I modified the file name?

Thanks

Can you tell me the exact message you are receiving?
Thanks,
Keith

Sure! Thanks for replying so quickly…