Save Project to Cloud, Work from 2nd PC?

Hello, and thanks for reading!

I’m new to Scrivener (but I did search the topics and Knowledge Base). Here’s my situation.

I need to work on my home machine at night, save the project to the cloud, and then work from my office during the day. At the end of the day, I’d like to save that project, and then pick it back up at night at home.

Tonight is my first evening using Scrivener, so I created and saved a project. But when I went to upload the file to the cloud, I found it was a folder containing 3 other folders and the xml project file. I assume all of it needs to be saved, but I’ll never get so many uploads and downloads right.

Is there a way to transport files between computers? Preferably a simple way, I have the technical skills of a freshly-stunned blowfish.

Thanks so much! I really enjoyed using Scrivener. :smiley:

As you realized, a Scrivener project, though appearing as a single thing inside Scrivener, is actually a file system folder (name ending in .scriv) containing a project .scrivx file and several subfolders containing numerous files. Essentially, rather than being a single simple file like a Word doc file, it is a database constructed of numerous folders and files. Given the numerous pieces that make it up and their interrelationships, it is sensitive to and can be corrupted by outages and by less than perfect copying or cloud sync schemes. (Same holds at least somewhat true for seemingly simple Word doc files, but that’s a topic for another time.)

There are a variety of approaches to working on a Scrivener project on two or more computers. You will find the approaches discussed in the Scrivener manual (Help > Scrivener Manual or download from scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb ) and in the forums under words/topics such as “backup”, “restore”, “cloud”, “dropbox”, “sync”, “compress”, “zip”, etc.).