Saving to LAN server and iCloud?

I’ve been using Scrivener on a Mac for a few years, but I just got an iPad and I have two questions.

1. Regarding saving a Scrivener file: If I simply do a File > Save will it save the file to the iPad SSD? If I’m connected to a server on a LAN (SMB connection) can I save a Scrivener file to a subdirectory on the server? And can I also save the file to my iCloud account?

2. The last time I checked, there was no way to secure (password protect) a Scrivener file. Has that issue been resolved?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

iOS devices don’t have a normal shared file system like Mac or PC devices. Each app (with a few exceptions) has its own storage space that is sandboxed away from other apps. Hence Scrivener for iOS integrates with Dropbox client libraries so the Scrivener app can sync with your Dropbox library.

Alternately, you can use the Files app to copy Scrivener projects into and out of the Scrivener-specific storage area. If you have a LAN client for your iOS that can use the SMB protocol and integrates with the File app, then you could in theory two-step your projects – work on them in Scrivener and save them to the local (non-Dropbox) portion of the Scrivener storage, and then use the Files app to copy them back and forth. But it won’t be automatic, so you will need to keep careful track of which copies are the most up-to-date.

It’s not an issue so much as it is a different set of priorities. The format a Scrivener project uses is not actually a single file under the hood, but rather a collection of files. Short of using some sort of archiver, which would potentially add a lot of time and CPU usage to the loading/saving process, there’s no really good way to password protect them.