Scene Content Disappearing

*Disclaimer - I am BRAND NEW to Scrivener for Windows and this is my FIRST POST in this forum.

I have been trialing Scrivener 1.9.15 for several days now and am using it for a specific, historical project. This involves transcribing, as accurately as possible, a fifty-four page, hand written autobiography from 1865. I have scanned all of the original pages to JPG files that average 2.5 Mb, each. In order to conveniently do the transcribing I set up a Project with a Folder in the Draft area of the Binder. Within this Folder I have created a Series of Scenes to work with, starting with Page 1 Image, then Page 1 Text, then Page 2 Image, and Page 2 Text, etc. This permits me to use the horizontal split pane mode of the Editor, and by closing the Inspector and the Binder I can zoom the window with the scanned image to 400-600% to accurately read the hand writing in the upper window while I transcribe to text in the lower window. This has been a very helpful feature in this endeavor.

Sadly, I have been experiencing a problem with page images ‘disappearing’ from their Scenes. I don’t know if I have hit some form of limit with the software, or if this is a bug that the developers should know about as they wrap up 3.0.

I would best describe the issue as something that develops with a session using the software. On initial opening of the Project, all Pages, or Scenes, are listed and their content is indicated by the simulated text on the Scene icons for all 108 of them. Over the course of a work session, Scenes with page images begin to lose their content. The Scene icons show a blank page and the image is ‘gone’ when the Scene is selected. It is usually those that are closer to the end of the Project, i.e., as I write this, Image Page 24 and Image Pages 29–54 are missing. Of course, they are not really missing, because if I close and reopen the Project, they are all there, again!