Scrivener 3.0 connection to licence error

I just purchased 3.0 last month after using it as a trial for a few weeks. Now, every time I open Scrivener, a pop-up box says there’s a connecting to license issue. Then it just goes to ‘not responding’ and I can’t use it.
No idea what to do as I’m new to its use but can’t use at all right now. How do I fix this?

thank you
Jane

PS: When I close the Scrivener window a pop-up says Scrivener not responding with the options to wait or close anyway, so I close it as waiting does nothing - when I open it a second time, it works. But the process begins again when I open it the first time.

Hello Jane, and welcome to the forum.

I’m sorry to learn you’re having some issues with how Scrivener is behaving when you first open it.

I recommend reviewing your PC’s Windows Security settings, as well as the security settings for any anti-virus, firewall, proxy, or VPN software your PC has installed. The behavior you’ve encountered suggests that a security tool on your PC might be blocking Scrivener from performing its license verification when it’s first launched.

You may find that you need to add Scrivener to the “exceptions list” or “approved list” for your security programs for it to activate its license.

Another option you can test is to run Scrivener as an administrator (right click over the Scrivener icon and select ‘Run as administrator’) and register. Next time you launch Scrivener normally it should stay registered.

If neither of those suggestions resolves the activation issue, then you may want to reboot your computer into Safe Mode with Networking and activate Scrivener in that mode. The steps for rebooting in Safe Mode with Networking are available here.

The Safe Mode with Networking will deactivate any tools that are blocking Scrivener, but it will still be able to connect to the servers. Then, you can reboot your computer as you normally would.