Scrivener and Bookends

I’ve searched the forum and whilst there are various threads on Bibliographic software none seem to address my specific question.

Basically, how do others use Bookends with Scriv? I should add I’m a newbie to Scriv and find it a wholly different way of working, so please stay with me.

Scenario: I wish to insert a footnote. So in Scriv- Insert footnote and the marker appears. Now I wish to paste in my (MHRA) formatted footnote (more accurately a reference) from BE, but this does not appear to work. Type it in and the formatting gets lost when I transfer to Nisus, although this could be Nisus implementation of RTF. OTOH it could be Scriv :slight_smile:

How are others doing this? I really want Scriv to work for me but I’m having to think of going back to my ‘old’ ways (Word), rather than spending time trying to do the workrounds.

This is how I do it: I work with Bookends’ temporary citation code in Scrivener (as I would in Word) and format for the citation style (MLA in my case) when I’m done with the piece and ready to format it for publication.

So this would be an example code: {Chaney, 2001, #9420@399}
@399 is the page number. Bookends can turn this into whatever style you choose when you scan the document (once you’ve compiled your draft and it resides outside Scrivener):

MLA:
In-text citation: (Chaney 399)
In the Bibliography:
Chaney, Michael A. “Picturing the Mother, Claiming Egypt: My Bondage and My Freedom as Auto(Bio)Ethnography,â€

I use the combination of Bookends, Scrivener and Mellel.

Like jottce I set Scrivener as the default word processor in Bookends (at a later stage of work it sometimes comes handy to temporarily set Mellel as the default word processor).