Scrivener and NVDA

Hello, everyone. I am a blind writer who has participated in NaNoWriMo and won. Many of my fellow Wrimos rave about Scrivener, and it certainly looks awesome from what I read about it on the site. However, when I downloaded the free trial to see if it was compatible with my screen-reader, NVDA, I was dismayed to discover that I couldn’t even install the program on my own! I would really like to purchase and use this program at some point in the future, but if I can’t use it in conjunction with my current screen-reader, there would be no point. I will probably win another discount coupon either at one of the Camp events or the official NaNoWriMo, but until I know the program is compatible with NVDA, I won’t have any use for such discount codes.

NVDA is free, so if anyone wants to test it, you only need to download the software from this site. Help in this area would be sincerely appreciated.

For what it’s worth, I installed NVDA on my PC (Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit (not RT)) and tried it with Scrivener and Word 2010 (32 bit).

NVDA did not work with Scrivener. In a main edit window, it kept saying “pane, pane, pane, …”. In the binder, it caused Scrivener to crash/vanish. Whereas, not unsurprisingly, it did work with Word 2010. I did not attempt to tweak NVDA.

I suspect that this is related, in part, to the Qt cross-platform framework that Scrivener is implemented with.

I listened to the last two podcasts (audio status reports) posted by the NVDA developers on their site. Based on their spending pretty much the entirety of the podcasts discussing tweaks and fixes involved in getting NVDA to work well with just Microsoft products… Word in particular, I’m not surprised that support for and compatibility with other non-Microsoft software is problematic.