Scrivener for Copy Writers

Hi there,

this is my first post here on the forums, and I was wondering where to put it. Well, I figured “Sascha, before you go on requesting all sorts of unnecessary features, tell people about yourself and what you use Scrivener for.”

So, yeah, here it is.

I’m a writer of novels and short-stories. Most of the time, anyway. But as I sometimes want to be able to buy a beer, I also double as copy writer, mainly for web content. Sometimes, I also call myself a “technical writer”, but as I’ve never used Scriv to that purpose, well.

Copy writing it is, then.

I had been playing around with the demo version of Scrivener for ages before putting down the money. Not because I didn’t think Scrivener was a great application well worth the dough, but because I’m also an avid user of StoryMill (formerly Avenir) and didn’t think Scriv would replace it for my novel writing. I still don’t think so, but, well …

There’s the beer again. :wink: And a couple of weeks (months?) ago I realised Scrivener is the perfect environment for copy writing. At least for me. How so?

• I can put the actual information which needs to be in a blurb of writing in the synopsis.
  • I can freely reorder those blurbs in the binder. Or group them in folders.
  • Also, I get a word and character count of each individual blurb quite easily.
  • Then, all the material a customer sends me goes into “Research”. No more dozens of documents in the finder, just one .sciv.
  • Also, split view is a boon, as I can have the customers’ key word listings and old marketing stuff open at the same time I’m actually writing a specific blurb.
  • SNAPSHOTS. ’nuff said.
  • Compile draft as plain text, open in a Nisus template, assign styles, print to PDF, done.

In short: Scrivener is perfect for that first draft that, hopefully, the customer will like so much you won’t have to go over it all again. Hey, one can dream!