Scrivener for mac - scroller can't be changed?

Good morning,

I’m new to scrivener and have just downloaded the demo version. Playing around with it a bit, impressed with the possibilities and how much you can tweak it to your own preferences. One thing which seems to not be working properly is the ‘scroller’ in composition mode. What i get now when I enter composition now is that the inertion point is in the middle of the screen, always. If I try to input text higher or lower on the screen, the intertion point jumps back to the middle.

Problem:
In preferences I can choose different ‘scroller’ modes, which I think should change this behaviour. For example turning it to ‘no scroller’ would lead me to think that the ‘insertion point always in the middle’ behaviour disappears and that I can edit as in a normal word processor. However, changing the settings of the scroller in preferences does nothing. The behaviour stays the same, i.e. insertion point always in the middle, no matter what setting I choose.

Bug? Or am I misunderstanding something here? I’m on OS X 10.10.2.

Ritske

Welcome to Scrivener, and the forum.

You may have Typewriter Scrolling turned on. Go to Format > Options > Typewriter Scrolling, and uncheck it.

Hi Hugh,

Thanks for the quick reply. Changing typewriter scrolling to on or off seems to make no difference. It only changes the behaviour when I’m not in composition mode - i.e. in the normal editor window. If I set it to typewriter, I get the insertion point in the middle of the screen, if not, it’s wherever I click. This is to be expected. However, if I turn typewriter scrolling off in the format section, and also choose ‘no scroller’ in preferences for composition view, I STILL get the insertion point in the middle of the screen.