Scrivener Freezing After Every Few Words and Backspacing

I have been using Scrivener for a couple years now, and it has worked very well for the most part. However, over the past few weeks, it has become progressively glitchy.

The main problem is that I can only type for a few seconds before it freezes. Sometimes it locks up entirely and has to be shut down through the ctrl alt del function and task manager. Other times it unfreezes. The timing is not regular, but the most I have been able to go is just about five minutes without it freezing.

Any time I move the mouse to another section, it freezes. Whenever I backspace, it freezes.

I have set my antivirus programs to not monitor Scrivener. I have turned off everything but Scrivener so I can work. And I do have the most recent updates.

Right now I am getting so frustrated that even though I appreciate the organizational capacity, I may have to stop using Scrivener entirely. Is there anything I can do to get Scrivener to work again?

Hi Jessica.

I see you posted in Feb 2016. I am very surprised there are no replies from moderators re your problem. Did you manage to resolve by yourself?

I too have had this problem for sometime, though not as severe as yours seems to be. I freeze for less than a minute (that severely hampers my flow!) and luckily I have not had to do a forced restart… YET!

The pattern occurs most frequently when I do longer interrupted sittings that initially led me to suspect a memory write lag. However since the ‘ProjectName*’ does not appear to indicate an auto-save in progress at these times, I begin to doubt that theory. I too have fiddled with my antivirus settings, even disabled it for a while, and minimised other resources, but with no marked difference. Oddly this does happen most often on backspace, so much so that I changed my keyboard several times. But again, little change. A recent change of new PC to higher specifications has made little difference either.