scrivener is almost perfect as is...but

Scrivener is almost perfect as it is, but I DO have one small suggestion. I think the developer should charge more for his product. This may be the most unpopular suggestion in these forums, but I’ve read comments where Keith seems to be saying that selling Scrivener is barely profitable for him. That’s not right or reasonable.

Why not charge, say, $50 as a flat fee with no educational discounts. Or, if you don’t lilke round numbers, try $49. Scrivener is worth much more than that to me. It is unique, and it is uniquely useful. It’s also stable and incredibly well supported.

This is a selfish request on my part. I want Keith to be happy and profitable so that he will stay with this fine software and keep it going. For my sake.

Thanks,

Rebecca

I’d say if Keith goes higher, he should consider an educational discount; after all, I’m a student! :wink:

Seriously though, Keith, consider pricing out what price would be needed to make this your day job (well, software development anyway). Then again, I have no idea what your day job is, so perhaps it’s being the head reviewer of area pubs for the Guardian or somesuch. Under those conditions being a fulltime programmer seems rather suboptimal. :smiley:

-RS

Rebecca

I’m inclined to agree. I would have happily paid more because scrivener is a an absolutre pearl of an app.

That said, I think Keith has done well with the pricing. Anymore and it might make people stop and think…or worse look for a warez copy.

I also would have paid more. Have paid more, in fact, for other software which delivered less. No need, Keith, to make an increase retroactive, but do think about either a higher entry price, or a significant up-grade price. On the other hand, if you’re financially independent and do this only as a lark, why, the current price may be just about right.