Scrivener (not responding)

Hi. I’ve been using Scrivener for a few months now. I have Mac and Windows licenses, and sync my projects using Dropbox (backed up to my local drives too).

I’d had a couple of months away from my book project, but when I fired up the Mac version this week to continue work on it I couldn’t get Scrivener to load any files. I can open the Projects Templates window, but when I select a file - any file, even the tutorials - I get the spinning ball. After about 20 seconds the Force Quit Applications window says “Scrivener (not responding)”, and it never fixes itself. The same thing happens if I try to create a new project.

I’m running OS X 10.8.2, and Scrivener 2.3.1. I know Scrivener worked fine on earlier versions, but I don’t know if it’s an OS upgrade that’s killed it. I tried deleting the app from my system and downloading afresh (I didn’t purchase through the App Store) but it hasn’t made a difference.

Has anyone else encountered this issue, and is there a fix? I’d really like to get this working again, as I’ve barely used my Mac licence!

Yeah, if you haven’t done anything with the software recently and did an OS upgrade in between then and now, that’s the most likely culprit. I would first suspect any third-party plug-ins you have installed. For the last year and a half, Apple has been aggressively dropping support for security holes that have been deprecated for a while now. A lot of plug-ins relied on these to get by, and now they are causing other software on the computer to crash, since they get automatically hooked into the software’s running code when you launch it. I’m not aware of any large-scale OS X level incompatibilities, so that is what I would suspect.