Scrivener not saving ...

After a recommendation from an acquaintance, I’m currently using the 30-day trial of Scrivener to see if it’s the right program for my writing projects, and I’ve honestly loved everything … until today.

I was using the Corkboard, outlining some notes on a couple chapters. I am a veteran journalist and graphic designer, so I NEVER rely on auto-saves to do my saving … I’ve lost too many files in too many programs over the years.

Back to the point, so I hit command S to save earlier this evening before closing my project, quitting Scrivener and taking a break. And I recently returned to the computer, fired up Scrivener and opened the project to find that I’ve lost a large section of the work I had completed earlier in the day. It simply is not there. When I closed Scrivener, I got no message of needing to save, not that I’ve read anything that says I will see such a warning, only that it will automatically save when I close a project. BUT I know I did save, auto-save function or not, and yet the text is not there. So I decided to do a little test of this … I typed in some pointless words in the same file and closed the project again. When I reopened it, the pointless words were no longer there. So once again I typed in some pointless words, hit command S, even went to File-Save, and closed the project again. When I reopened, once again they were missing. After a few more tests of this, it did eventually reopen with the pointless words as I saved them. However, the entire incident just concerns me. The material from earlier is still lost, and I don’t want future material to maybe save, maybe not.

Any clue what’s happening here? Is this some bug with the shareware trial? I don’t want to waste time trying to recapture a moment of writing that may be lost, spend time typing it up, just to have it not save again. Any thoughts on this? Even if auto-save is not working, I expect a force save to come through for me.