Scrivener on Linux: official release?

hello to everyone,

I’m a PhD student and I’d just like to say how important has Scrivener become for my academic writings.
I sincerely hope there will be an official release for Linux (that’s what I’m using), as I’d be more than willing to pay for this amazing piece of software.
keep up the good work.

Ditto. Have been wondering this myself, ever since I learned that people were packaging native Linux builds.

I’d been hoping for something like Scrivener on Linux for years, and would gladly pay for another license if this was ever officially released (I already own a license for the Mac version on my wife’s computer—she’s a PhD student too).

And we’re not alone. Do a Google search for “Scrivener Linux”. Surely there are enough of us out there to pay for the additional work it’d take…

As I said in another post, according to the stats at w3schools.com, about 4.5% of web browsers detected by them are on Linux Oses. So a very rough guess would be 65 million Linux users. That’s got to be comparable with Mac users?

I’m sure many of these would pay for Scrivener (I certainly would) so I makes good business sense to do a Linux release. I’ve been a software engineer so I have a good idea what it takes to modify the code to run on Linux (and Unix). I’ve done this many times in the past. I think the financial gain outweighs the work it would take.

I wonder at the proportion of Linux users willing to pay for software. Most Linux distributions are free, and have repositories full of free software–they’re used to having everything on their computer free of charge. There are some for-pay Linux applications, but they are the exception, rather than the rule. On the other hand, Mac users are much more accustomed to paying for software–most of the time, for things that would be free on Linux.